In which country do you feel the most free: the USA or the UK?

Answer on @Quora to In which country do you feel the most free: the USA or  – Xochielt Sanchez #xochielt

Answer by Janette Nash:

I am a Brit who has now lived in the USA for nearly 12 years.  The UK may have changed since I was last there, and I question the word "freer" – I am free in both countries insofar as I am not imprisoned – but for freedom equalling feeling safe, definitely the UK.

I can walk the streets without fearing death by gunshot – either from a madman, or from a police officer.  Officials in the UK don't treat me like a criminal until proven otherwise, as they do in the US.  Bureaucracy is much more accessible.  Everyone else has mentioned the health aspect. 

I am a law-abiding citizen in any country where I live, but am treated as a human being in the UK.  My (American) husband felt the same way in the 5 years he lived in England.

In which country do you feel the most free: the USA or the UK?

Leave a Reply

