What is it like to work with Reese Witherspoon?

– Xochielt Sanchez

Answer by Sarah Baker:

It was amazing. She is exactly who you'd want her to be – kind, smart, professional, honest, unpretentious, kind, fun, funny, and of course, incredibly talented. I actually did my very first real acting job with Reese in Sweet Home Alabama. I had one line – I played a waitress at a bar and said: "Was that an olive, a twist, or a what and what?" If you don't remember that little piece of brilliance, it's because my one line got cut. Welcome to Hollywood! I was green as green could be, so I'm glad I got the chance to work with Reese again, this time with a bit more experience under my belt.

 The scene where we're getting drunk was on my first day, and somehow we settled into it very quickly. Philippe encouraged us to improvise, so we kind of made it our own, and there was an easiness to it that felt very natural. Reese has a way of being such an incredible actress that you understand when you act with her, why she's a huge movie star and Oscar winner. And yet, she has this magical way of being so present with you in a scene that you feel it's just the two of you, on equal footing, creating a moment together. It's remarkable.

What is it like to work with Reese Witherspoon?

Leave a Reply

