If Congress has a 10% approval rating, why don’t we just get rid of them?

– Xochielt Sanchez

Answer by Dan Holliday:

Because you do not elect Congress. You elect your two senators and your one representative. That's it.  They each cater to their electorate– that's kind of their job and how the "first past the post" system works. So Ted Cruz doesn't need to worry about all those California liberals who hate him.  Diane Feinstein doesn't need to worry about all those Texas conservatives who hate her.

So, for example, I love my two Ohio senators and will be re-electing them:

  • Rob Portman (R)
  • Sherrod Brown (D)

They're good guys.  I do pay attention to their general voting record.  I vote for *different* things than most people do.  For me pragmatism, bipartisanship and compromise is key.  I don't want a politician who is an unbending idealist in my camp — I'd rather be annoyed that things I like are "horse traded" to keep the government moving than to be obsessed with a fixed position and never budging.  Both of these men do that.  So, they get my vote.

If Congress has a 10% approval rating, why don't we just get rid of them?

Leave a Reply

