As a parent, should I support my son’s decision to change his sex?

– Xochielt Sanchez

Answer by Daniel Super:

Let me begin by expressing my deepest sympathy for the difficult emotions that you must be experiencing and the challenges you face going forward from this point. I can imagine the fear you must be experiencing for your child's future and no small amount of sadness that many of the dreams you have had for your child may not now come to pass.

The emotions you are feeling are completely valid, do not let anyone tell you otherwise.

I hope that I can impress on you that there is another emotion which is entirely appropriate at this time, and that is pride.

Pride that you have raised a child who has the courage to be true to their inner self despite the hardships and scorn the outside world will attempt to heap upon their head.

Now more than ever that parenting instinct to protect is critical, for however difficult this is for you, it will be doubly difficult for your child.

There is no denying the next few years will be trying times, people who were once your friends will spurn you out of lack of understanding, strangers will cast aspersions, and everyone involved will make mistakes as they struggle to cope with dramatic changes.

I hope that you read the words myself and others here have written and choose to be a pillar of strength and support for your child through the upcoming difficulties.

In so far as my opinion matters about such things, it is the only right thing to do.

As a parent, should I support my son's decision to change his sex?

Leave a Reply

